Who said using a ladder was easier?

 Last day of my 3 days on. This week of WODs has been good to me.  I was looking forward to this one – three different elements and it looked quick! Chest 2 Bar pull-ups HELL YEAH! I’m actually more comfortable with these. lately… not as fast as I would like to be, and this is where my clients hear me say….TRAIN YOUR WEAKNESS, so shall I.

*pic of Dustin’s sweat angel after killing another WOD.

WOD:

Build to your 1RM Power Clean in no more than 7 min.

Rest 60 sec.

1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10 Ladder  Chest to Bar pull-ups

Rest 60 sec.

DB Burpees (25#)

It was out of my norm to get to a 1RM so fast.  You gotta kinda know where you stand before you get started.  I knew my Clean 1Rm was about 135#, so I knew I wanted to start heavy and move quickly.  Over the last year I have found out by listening to my body and paying attention to my performance, I do better when I’m really warmed up.  So, of course today Brannon, Rob  and I decided to do this wod after we had coached the evening classes, so our warmup was literally moving around the box and lifting all the equipment in cleanup mode. We both raced thru weight additions and just over 7min had to call it and count it.  I mustered up a 115# Power Clean before time ran out.

Rest 60 sec….. which was walk to the bar/chalk up/ and GO!

Chest 2 Bar pullup ladder w/no rest between rounds. 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10.  The first few were good. Trying to train my weaknesses, I have gone back to a prone grip on both hands, and then on a few rounds tried to get C2B with my butterfly.  Back to good ol’ kipping to finish in 7:07.

REST 60 sec…… walk to the mats, grab a set of 25# dumb bells.

AMRAP in 2 min DB Burpees…. Howard on the clock.

HOLY CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and we yell at Howard “How long has it been?”  Should have known it was not gonna be good when he answered…”Just keep going.”  Then I see Rob out of the corner of my eye and he hasn’t stopped…. UHHH.  So as I hear the count down I race thru a few more, I had a # already set in my head when I started. TIME… AMRAP=20.

These 3 elements together proved to be a great mix and an awesome WOD with the guys.

Leave a Reply

